Duped

Duped

I was duped
by my own not-too-unrealistic imagination
by my own never-ending greed
by my own not-so-passionate desire
by my own not-to-be-filled emptiness

I was duped
by my own ardent-looking prayer

I was duped
by my own ever-deceptive ME

Just like an ever-gullible woman who
is waiting for another doomsday
even more passionately even after
many world-ending prophesy failed,

I keep praying
with my colorful imagination
with my growing greed
with my passionate desire
with my hollow emptiness

I will be duped again and again
‘till I stop praying
in front of real Jesus
who would never dupe me but

how will I know he is real?
I might be duped again by my beautiful Jesus
who my creative brain created…

Is there any way to get out of this duping business?

Leave a Reply

