Why Ask? Just Enjoy Your Luck!

I’ve been standing in the marketplace since the early morning.
What was I doing?
Daydreaming….of course….
Somebody came to me and said,
“Come and work in my vineyard, and I will pay you whatever is right.”
I was busy dreaming so I rejected that offer.
That man came to me several times during the day and
made the same offer but I rejected all.
I didn’t want to lose my sweet daydreaming.
You understand, don’t you?
When the day was closing to the end,
the man came to me again and said,
“This is the last time. Come and work in my vineyard, and
I will pay you whatever is right.”
I was tired of daydreaming all day so I accepted the offer but
I didn’t expect decent wage.
I was not not-so-decent good-for-nothing, wasn’t I?
How much could I work?
The day almost ended so I got nothing to lose.
It was already closing time when I think I worked about 10 minutes or so.
I was the man who was hired last so I was paid first.
I got surprised I was paid decent for my little work so I was kind of happy.
When I turned around to go home, I heard lots of grumblings.
I asked other workers what the complaints was about and found that
all workers were paid the same regardless how many hours they worked!
I fully understood the complaints of the other workers.
I was kind of uncomfortable so I went to the owner and asked,
“How come I was paid the same as others who worked a lot more than I?”
The owner frowned and said to me,
“Is that a problem? You don’t want to get paid because you worked very little?”
I blushed and answered,
“Well, I am ok. I just think you look unfair to other workers.
Why do you do this?”
The owner smiled and said,
“Why ask? Just enjoy your luck! This is none of your concern.”

Should I thank the owner?
Is this the proof that the owner loves me?
How about others who are less lucky than I?
Is that really none of my business?

Well, there’s nothing I can do.
I am not the owner of the vineyard.
It would be presumptuous for me to question the owner, wouldn’t it?
He can do whatever he wants to do, can’t he?
( I hope the owner would be a woman, but….)

The only thing you have is LUCK!
That’s what the life is all about……isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

