A Lingering Touch?

Like Jonah,
sitting on top of the mountain
looking down the Castle
expecting its complete obliteration,
I hear a rumor through the hot breeze.

A guy who was naïve and not-so-smart,
had little money
with not-so-attractive wife in my memory
has become the Lord of the Castle.
Wow!  This is a surprise!
The ending of the castle must be near.
I wanted to wear that Lord hat!
A guy like me who is smart, intelligent, knowledgeable and devout
with smarter and pretty-attractive wife
is leaving the Castle being pretty dejected.
how come the guy like him becomes the Lord?!

Do I look down on him?
‘cause his educational background is way lower than mine?
‘cause he is not rich?
‘cause his wife is not beautiful?

Jesus suddenly appears and says,
How are you sitting here enjoying contempt?
Aren’t you supposed to face the other side of the mountain?
Something must be lingering in your heart.

Frustrated in my dithering, I say,
When will the Castle collapse?
I don’t want a place to go back to.
After I see and double-check the flattened Castle,
I will turn my back.

Sighed deeply, Jesus says,
You want me to destroy the Castle because of reluctant you?
You are just like Jonah, but
you just flee without proclaiming your Gospel in that Castle.
Now you understand Lot’s wife.
If you don’t want to become an ugly statue
looking down the flourishing Castle,
turn your back now and going down the other side of this mountain.

I realize
the road to spirituality is easier said than done.
Thinking about going down to the Castle and
mingle with the dead in order to become happy?

Jesus waving his hands and says,
Lingering is part of spirituality,
Just like doubt is part of faith.

There is no end in this writing.

Leave a Reply

