Greedy Mary (Luke 1: 28-38)

I return to the past and am roaming around the Nazareth area.
I’ve found I believe I am a prophet.
I stop by a small house.
Through the window I can see a young girl praying.
She surely is Mary…
I yell in front of the window, “Anybody home?”

Mary stops praying and open the door to greet me.
“Who are you?  What brings you here?”

I tell her with an austere manner,
“I am a prophet from the future and I’ve been sent to deliver God’s message.”

May’s face brightens and says,
“Please come in…”

When I sit, Mary asks me with a curious look,
“What message do you bring here?”

I say with a cheerful voice,
“Mary, you are the blessed one”

Coming closer to me, Mary whispers,
“What kind of blessing will be given to me?”

I clear my throat and proclaim solemnly,
“God says Messiah will come to this world through you.”

May replies with a bit disappointed look,
“You say the child by my fiancé Joseph will become Messiah?
We’re still far away from getting married”

I straighten my posture and proclaim again like a thunder,
“Not the child by your fiancée.
This child is God’s son and he will come to your body through the Holy Spirit.”

Mary doesn’t bother to hide her joy and says,
“Then this means I will be pregnant with God’s son.”

I ask her with a concerned look,
“If a woman who doesn’t know man were pregnant, she could be killed.”

Mary says with a confident look,
“If the child is really God’s son, that wouldn’t happen.
I can take that risk if I can become the Mother of God.”

I am a bit shocked and say,
“Are you sure you understand the message?”

With two hands together, Mary says,
“May God’s word to me be fulfilled.”

Confused and foggy, I leave Mary’s house.

Mary was ready.
Out of spiritual greed and/or a modicum of secular vanity and
With something like passion-of-the-Christ,
She was getting thoroughly ready to
Take Messiah in her body
Even though she knew her life was in danger.

No wonder she said ‘yes’ without hesitation
When the angel delivered God’s message,
As depicted in the Bible.

Leave a Reply

